Leave a comment

Jericho Hill

Wrapper: Mexican San Andres

Binder: Nicaragua

Filler: Nicaragua

The Jericho Hill is a new offering from Crowned Heads. It’s a rough-looking cigar, but I’m not generally concerned with that. Rolled in the My Father factory, it has a toothy San Andres wrapper, I mean really toothy. The cap looks strangely like a Padrón, detached and sloppy. The stick is dense and tight and looks, to my eye, quite inviting.

Jericho Hill cap

Jericho Hill ring

The main flavors I detected were bitter chocolate and molasses, with some leather and wood. It smoked well, rich and relatively flavorful, with a solid, even burn and full white smoke. It has a little bit of a nic kick, but I did have it in the morning, when I notice it more. I do prefer it to the J.D. Howard, which I had some reservations about. When put head to head with some of richer Tatuaje offerings, or other full-flavored sticks, I can’t say it knocked my socks off, but it’s definitely worth trying. Some of the other vitolas may be better and I’ll need to try a few more to really get a handle on it. Overall, it’s a nice smoke and not as expensive as some other producer’s offerings. I’ll update this review if I try any more samples.

Edit: So we have tried another sample. It was a worthwhile experience. The smoothness was very noticeable and we detected dark orange peel and nutmeg. I’m upping the recommendation. I have to say, too, it’s a nice looking box press without straying from its cowboy toughness.

Leave a Reply

