Leave a comment

Edgar Hoill Cultura

Vitola: Perfecto? 4.5 x 40/54
Country of Origin: Honduras
Wrapper: Nicaraguan Habano
Binder: Nicaragua
Filler: Nicaragua
Blender: Christian Eiroa / Edgar Hoill

The Cultura is an odd-looking cigar, a blunt, conical, unbanded blend from Christian Eiroa (of Camacho lineage) by way of Edgar Hoill, the photographer. I had no idea what to expect, as I haven’t tried any of the CLE products.

Nevertheless, the Cultura definitely surprised me. The wrapper has a particularly floral nose and the cold draw tasted pleasantly grassy.

Edgar Hoill Cultura

I don’t usually run through the 3-part rigamarole like some folks, partly because I might not be that sophisticated, and partly because I’m not sure I want keep checking when I’ve hit the next third. However, the first third of this cigar is notably different. It keeps to that truly interesting floral flavor that the aroma foretold, while adding some subtle sweetness and… hmm, maybe nuttiness? I have say that I like that the wrapper nose is expressed in the flavor and that this cigar starts off with a really unique profile.

Edgar Hoill Cultura lit

As it continues, I get some dark fruit notes, a fragrant spice (don’t ask me to name it) and an herbaceous quality. There were some subtle leather flavors earlier which seem to have increased. Oh, and smoke production continues to be copious. Nearer to the end, it becomes a more traditional full-bodied profile – rich and darker tasting – and the nicotine starts to hit me. I have to beg off at that point. The caveat, of course, is that I have only tried the one, so not only did I wimp out, but I may have some of that wide-eyed “Ooo, I love this new cigar” phenomenon going on.

That aside, I have say I was pretty impressed. Unique, interesting, and a myriad of flavor changes. I didn’t even wonder where the last half of the perfecto went!

Leave a Reply

