Leave a comment

Los Regalos Quetzal by Emilio Cigars

Quetzal whole

Wrapper:  Ecuadorian Habano
Binder and Filler: Nicaraguan and Dominican

Let me start by saying that i should have written this review right after I smoked the cigar. I always forget the feel of it. I can look back at my notes, but it’s just not the same.

The nose of this stick was primarily hay, the cold draw raisin. Upon lighting it, I got a rich cream flavor, with a hint of citrusy tang. The smoke is full, the draw is just right. Further into the stick, I found the sweetness increasing over time. Most notably, though, is that the citrusy tang developed into a full-fledged grapefruit flavor. I was really bowled over as it strengthened into the second third. The last third finished with waves of cream, citrus and some pepper.

I was really impressed with this stick. Good construction, unique flavors, nice body, lots of cream. There’s something really nice about trying a blend which has a memorable profile and is also a really satisfying smoke. I thrive on variety, and this offered it. I wish I could remember more to tell you… but here are some pictures:

Quetzal ring

Quetzal ring 2Quetzal short w/ringQuetzal short smokingDSC00712

Leave a Reply

