Leave a comment

Bits and Pieces

Okay, so this is the story. I had to deal with some money stuff, which limited my cigar budget somewhat. Did I stop smoking? No, of course not, because the first thing I want in a money crunch is a cigar! But, to be fair, I smoked mainly singles, which doesn’t really do the cigar justice. I just can’t wrap my head around a cigar in one try. I still wanted to try and get a post out though, so I’ll just blather on about a few bits and pieces I pulled from the bottom of the box.

Firstly, the ACC Don Cervantes El Presidente

Wrapper: Ecuadorian Sumatra
Binder: Nicaraguan Cubano Ligero
Filler: Dominican Broadleaf, Habano 2000, Santa Lucia
Made in: Ecuador

[according to Cigar Chronicles]

There isn’t a lot of info about these. They’re from a company which specializes in in high-end accessories and from what I’ve read, targets an elite (read rich) clientele, rather than cigar smokers.

From their website:

Filled with rare aged tobaccos from Nicaragua, Dominican Republic and ACC’s own Pre-Embargo Cuban tobacco, Presidente is wrapped with an aged, golden Ecuadorian Sumatra wrapper. In demand by almost every top cigar brand in the world, the Presidente’s wrapper is fermented for nearly a year and is turned eight times during the fermentation process. The Presidente’s ash burns white and beautifully, and this outstanding cigar’s long finish is unique among cigars.  The Presidente comes wrapped in the famous “P” Cigar jacket.

ACC El Presidente w-band

You expect something really outstanding from that that blurb. The “famous” jacket is… very big, as you can see. I’ve had this resting for over a year (I think). It’s a really solid entubado stick, which compares in price to a Cuban.

It had a sweet, musty nose, a cold draw of dried fruit and green tea. It smoked very smoothly, with a somewhat sour, vegetal note. I also got some cocoa. Overall, it was fine, but I certainly had a different take than the review referenced above. Honestly, I expected more. Maybe it was me, as I only had this one (and one many moons ago), but I can’t afford to try again.

Diamond Crown Julius Caeser Toro

Wrapper: Ecuador Habano

Binder and Filler: Unknown

This is a well-known stick from the upper end of the J.C. Newman Diamond Crown line. It’s rolled in the Fuente factory.

Diamond Crown Julius Caeser Toro

This is another solid stick that has been languishing in the box for some time. It’s a really nice, smooth, even Dominican style smoke. I got some tangy, vegetal notes with some mineral overlay. The smoke was full and I also got pepper, nuts and cocoa. It may have been a little wrong for my palette that day, so I can’t really say more.

BLTC Morphine Robusto

Wrapper: Mexican San Andres Maduro
Inner Wrapper: Ecuadorian Maduro
Binder: Nicaraguan Habano
Filler: Honduran, Nicaraguan

I’ve tried a few of the BLTC sticks, and they seemed good, but nothing really popped out at me. This came in the Cigar Federation COTM club.

[As an aside, I’ve found this to be a great deal, and I am not affiliated in any way.]

BLTC Morphine

This one popped out for me. It was a bitter, dark smoke with earth, dark cocoa and low level sweetness. Thanks to reading a Cigar Coop review (here) I could also identify an interesting herbal flavor as licorice. He did it, not me, but it’s there. Thanks, William.

I probably won’t be able to try any others, since I think they only come in boxes, but hey it was nice while it lasted. If you can afford it, check it out. The BLTC design is also very nice. It has a distinctly Victorian feel. But watch out if you go to the website. It’s a little janky. No offense.

Arturo Fuente Hemingway Signature Maduro

Wrapper: Connecticut Broadleaf

Binder and Filler: DominicanAF Hemingway Signature Maduro

Straight to the chase: love these. No, this is not a hot boutique cigar. It’s just a good Fuente. If you haven’t had the chance, try one. The nose was some hay, wood and stable aromas, with a floral note. The cold draw, floral and hay. On first light, which is that little point on the perfecto, I got an amazing mouthful of sandalwood. It went on to give me a solid, smooth smoke with spice, sweetness, cocoa, followed by coffee, more cocoa and spice.

So that’s what I’ve been up to. I’ll try and put together a more substantial post at some point, but until then, thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

